Preparing To Collect Sales Tax From California Customers

After years of debate, the California Assembly passed AB 155 on May 31, 2011 that would essentially force online retailers to collect sales tax from state residents.

Introduced by Assemblymember Charles M. Calderon (Dem-58), AB 155 passed by an assembly vote of 52-20, which was voted largely along party lines (Assemblymember Bill Berryhill was the only Republican exception). The bill now heads to the state senate. has fought sales tax collection basically since its beginning. Now that California is on the verge of leveling the advantage of online retailers over brick-and-mortar retailers, Amazon and other online retailers should prepare for the potential loss of business in the Golden State. Or will they?

Bottom Line: California will lose about 10,000 Amazon affiliates, but gain an estimated one billion dollars in sales tax revenue per year.

Outlook: Will Main Street be restored when customers no longer feel compelled to shop online solely to not pay sales tax on purchases? To be determined…

AB 155 Vote History


Luis A. Alejo (Dem-28)
Michael Allen (Dem-7)
Tom Ammiano (Dem-13)
Toni Atkins (Dem-76)
Jim Beall Jr. (Dem-24)
Bill Berryhill (Rep-26)
Marty Block (Dem-78)
Bob Blumenfield (Dem-40)
Susan Bonilla (Dem-11)
Steven Bradford (Dem-51)
Julia Brownley (Dem-41)
Joan Buchanan (Dem-15)
Betsy Butler (Dem-53)
Charles M. Calderon
Nora Campos (Dem-23)
Wilmer Amina Carter (Dem-62)
Wesley Chesbro (Dem-1)
Mike Davis (Dem-48)
Roger Dickinson (Dem-9)
Mike Eng (Dem-49)
Mike Feuer (Dem-42)
Paul Fong (Dem-22)
Felipe Fuentes (Dem-39)
Warren T. Furutani (Dem-55)
Cathleen Galgiani (Dem-17)
Mike Gatto (Dem-43)
Richard S. Gordon (Dem-21)
Isadore Hall III (Dem-52)
Mary Hayashi (Dem-18)
Roger Hernández (Dem-57)
Jerry Hill (Dem-19)
Alyson Huber (Dem-10)
Ben Hueso (Dem-79)
Jared Huffman (Dem-6)
Ricardo Lara (Dem-50)
Bonnie Lowenthal (Dem-54)
Fiona Ma (Dem-12)
Tony Mendoza (Dem-56)
Mitchell (Dem-47)
William W. Monning (Dem-27)
Richard Pan (Dem-5)
Henry T. Perea (Dem-31)
John A. Pérez (Dem-46)
V. Manuel Pérez (Dem-80)
Anthony J. Portantino (Dem-44)
Nancy Skinner (Dem-14)
Jose Solorio (Dem-69)
Sandré R. Swanson (Dem-16)
Norma J. Torres (Dem-61)
Bob Wieckowski (Dem-20)
Das Williams (Dem-35)
Mariko Yamada (Dem-8)

Total: 52 = 51 Democrats + 1 Republican


Katcho Achadjian (Rep-33)
Paul Cook (Rep-65)
Tim Donnelly (Rep-59)
Nathan Fletcher (Rep-75)
Beth Gaines (Rep-4)
Shannon L. Grove (Rep-32)
Curt Hagman (Rep-60)
Linda Halderman (Rep-29)
Diane L. Harkey (Rep-73)
Kevin Jeffries (Rep-66)
Steve Knight (Rep-36)
Dan Logue (Rep-3)
Allan R. Mansoor (Rep-68)
Jeff Miller (Rep-71)
Mike Morrell (Rep-63)
Jim Nielsen (Rep-2)
Jim Silva (Rep-67)
Cameron Smyth (Rep-38)
David G. Valadao (Rep-30)
Donald P. Wagner (Rep-70)

Total: 20 = 0 Democrats + 20 Republicans

Absent, Abstaining, or Not Voting

Gilbert Cedillo (Dem-45)
Connie Conway (Rep-34)
Martin Garrick (Rep-74)
Jeff Gorell (Dem-37)
Brian W. Jones (Rep-77)
Brian Nestande (Rep-64)
Chris Norby (Rep-72)
Kristin Olsen (Rep-25)

Total: 8 = 2 Democrats + 6 Republicans

[Source via California Legislative Counsel]

[image via]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *